Headwaters Foundation for Justice is Proud to Announce the Fund of the Sacred Circle and Community Innovation grantees

We are thrilled to award a total of $180,000 to the following nineteen organizations who are pursuing equity and justice in their communities.

We’d also like to thank our incredible volunteer leaders and community members who make up the core of our community-led grantmaking process.

Community Innovation Grants

In partnership with the Bush Foundation, Headwaters is pleased to offer Community Innovation Grants three times per year. Grantee organizations use problem-solving processes to lead to more effective, equitable and sustainable solutions to community challenges. Grants range from $500 to $10,000 and support organizations working to develop, test, and implement new approaches.

Congratulations to the following grantees: 

  • Afro American Student Association
  • Alliance for Sustainability
  • American Indian Movement Interpretive Center
  • Asian Economic Development Association
  • Bii Gii Wiin CDFL
  • Cooperative Development Funds of CDS
  • Cycles for Change
  • InquilinXs UnidXs Por Justica (United Renters for Justice)
  • Minnesota Host Home Network
  • Minnesota Transgender Health Coalition
  • Redeemer Center for Life
  • Shades of Yellow
  • The Food Group
  • The Tretter Coalition in GLBT Studies at the University of Minnesota 

2015 Community Innovation Committee Members: Amee Xiong, Becki Smith, Cassandra Berg, Chalonne Wilson, Margie Jo Eun Joo Andreason, Nausheena Hussain, and Oliviah Walker.

The next deadline to apply for a Community Innovation Grant is February 1, 2016.

Fund of the Sacred Circle

The Fund of the Sacred Circle supports American Indian organizations throughout Minnesota and Wisconsin advancing equity and justice in their communities. The fund has identified (but is not limited to) the following areas of interest:

  • language and cultural revitalization;
  • land and environmental restoration;
  • sovereignty and treaty rights;
  • self-determination and civil rights. 

Congratulations to the following grantees:

  • Dream of Wild Health
  • Dakota Wicohan
  • Phillips Indian Educators (PIE)
  • Waadookodaading Ojibwe Language Immersion School
  • Native Youth Alliance of Minnesota

2015 Fund of the Sacred Circle Committee Members: Andy Gokee, Jennifer Hall, Trisha Lee Cook, Hannah Smith, CoCo Villaluz, and Allicia Waukau.

Headwaters Foundation offers Fund of the Sacred Circle Grant opportunities once each year. The next grant cycle will open in the summer/fall of 2016.

For more information about the Fund of the Sacred Circle or Community Innovation grant opportunities, contact Senior Program Officer Melissa Rudnick.