Bush Prize: Minnesota 2023 Winners

The Bush Prize is an annual award that celebrates organizations that have cultures of innovation and histories of building creative solutions for challenges in their communities. In 2023, the Bush Foundation chose four regional partners to select Bush Prize winners who are leading change in their region. Headwaters Foundation for Justice partnered with the Bush Foundation to select the 2023 Bush Prize: Minnesota winners. 

2023 Bush Prize: Minnesota winners will each receive a flexible, 2-year grant of up to 25% of the organization’s last fiscal year expenses. This year's Bush Prize: Minnesota winners will receive a total of $445,000 in grants. Bush Prize grants are flexible general operating funds. Prize funds can be used to support the organization's ongoing good work in whatever way best suits the organization’s needs. 

This year’s four Bush Prize: Minnesota winners are organizations that are highly valued within their communities and have a track record of successful community problem solving. Their core work uses inclusive, collaborative, and resourceful processes to build power and advance justice throughout Minnesota, with a focus on racial and economic equity.  

We are excited to announce this year’s Bush Prize: Minnesota winners: 

  • New Native Theatre 
  • Ayada Leads 
  • Our Justice 
  • Restaurant Opportunities Center – MN 

Each of these remarkable organizations has a unique and innovative approach to advancing justice in Minnesota. They share a deep and consistent interconnection with their communities, which serves as the foundation for their innovative approaches. Each winner builds power authentically alongside their communities and is making a significant difference in advancing racial, cultural and economic equity throughout the state. Please join us in celebrating their exceptional impact. 

Click on the boxes below to learn more about each winner. 

New Native Theatre

New Native Theatre is a theater company by and for indigenous people that is decolonizing the theater ecosystem. They exemplify the values of inclusivity and resourcefulness by being deeply grounded in the skills of their community of artists. By disrupting old narratives and incorporating a holistic and human-centered approach to theater, they are transforming theater and creating abundance and visibility for Native people.

Click here to learn more

Ayada Leads

Ayada Leads is an organization that fosters an environment of leadership for African diaspora women in the Twin Cities. Their innovative approach builds a loving and inclusive community where African diaspora women feel a deep sense of belonging. Through innovative civic engagement strategies, leadership development, and demystification of the process of running for office, Ayada Leads is building a multi-racial democracy. 

Click here to learn more

Our Justice

Our Justice is a reproductive justice organization and abortion fund that provides direct financial and logistical support for people seeking abortion care in Minnesota. Their innovative approach is rooted in a commitment to building caring relationships with abortion-seekers, working closely with healthcare clinics, and engaging in bold legal and policy advocacy. They center reproductive justice as a core value and exemplify a culture of radical care for their clients, collaborative partners, and staff.

Click here to learn more

Restaurant Opportunities Center – MN

ROC-MN is a worker justice center that builds racial and economic justice through holistic organizing of restaurant workers. Using an innovative “snowflake model” approach, ROC-MN is building collective power across an industry often characterized by inequities and divisions. Because of ROC-MN’s work, the Twin Cities has more dignified workplaces and more workers with the knowledge and skills to build a better world by working collectively.

Click here to learn more

Bush Prize: Minnesota Finalists

In addition to the 2023 Bush Prize: Minnesota winners, Headwaters will be making grants to the three Bush Prize: Minnesota finalists. Each organization will receive a $10,000 finalist grant in recognition of their exceptional work throughout the state. We hope you’ll join us in celebrating them: 

About the Bush Prize: Minnesota community-led grantmaking process 

The 2023 Bush Prize: Minnesota winners were selected by a group of community grantmakers through a collective decision-making process. These community members made decisions with care, intention, dedication, and a deep commitment to both Headwaters and Bush Foundation values. Please join us in celebrating them: 

  • Anitra Cottledge  
  • Lauren Daumueller 
  • Amanda Dionne 
  • Tiffany Dykes 
  • Zach Johnson 
  • Cecilia Moulton-Pirkl 
  • Gina Suarez 
  • Marsha Yang  

All of the grantmakers are alumni of Headwaters’ Giving Project program. They brought deep experience with collective decision-making and a grounding in racial and economic justice as a lens for grantmaking.  

To learn more about the grantmaking process and learn more about this year’s Bush Prize: Minnesota winners, read our full announcement